google’s new online shop, boutiques.com

Has anyone browsed around Google’s new pride and joy: Boutiques.com? It’s supposed to be all revolutionary and shit, but what I’m seeing so far is a mashup of a few ideas already done, and shopstyle was for sure their muse (check out the drop-down menu design). Don’t get me wrong, I think there’s some promise. I like the ‘me, me, me’ idea behind it. For example, you can essentially ‘teach’ boutiques.com what your style is from your favorite colors & patterns (paisley or stripes), and favorite dress cuts (v-neck or mini). You can also tell her (I made boutiques a female) what you hate. But creating your style is quite time consuming and I ended up bollocking along through all the steps only to find out at the end that I hated everything they were suggesting I’d like. Does that mean I hate my own style?

Leave a Reply

