hanging the world

When I was 6 my family moved from England to Florida. My parents shipped our piano, their record collection, their book collection, shelving units and numerous gigantic world maps, which ended up lining our upstairs hallway. Although I despised History class and anything else worldly related at school, I remember standing in our upstairs hallway many times staring at these huge maps and never, ever getting sick of them.

Moseyman and I purchased a few great vintage looking maps on our recent US road trip and I’ve been eager to hang them in our new place. Problem is, one of them is 50″ X 32″ and it seems next to impossible to find an affordable wood frame that large.

Today I saw these photos and liked the idea of simply hanging it with 2 rods and a string. Are there any other hanging solutions?

wooden rodded map via Design Sponge

another pretty rodded map via Room Remix Blog

One Trackback to “hanging the world”

Leave a Reply

