floating on a houseboat dream

I always had a fascination with houseboats. When I lived in San Francisco a few years ago, I used to drive past Sausalito on the way to my sister’s place in Marin. Each time I passed, I would dreamily gaze upon the beautiful houseboats along the shore. I remember thinking to myself: “One day, I will have my own houseboat and I will travel the world in it!” Today I was reminded of this dream when I saw Apartment Therapy’s recent post on Olle Lundberg. Mr. Lundberg, architect and designer for Ikea, salvaged a car ferry that he found sitting around in Iceland. It is now tied to a pier in San Francisco. This is no ordinary houseboat. It’s got mega high ceilings that create a Brooklyn loft kind of feeling, and unlike a lot of modern day houseboats that have sucummed to being docked up and property taxed, this baby can move! Check it out. I added a few more floating homes to the mix that couldn’t go unseen.

lundberg ferry boat

lundberg ferry boat

lundberg's salvaged car ferry

lundberg's salvaged car ferry

the sausalito dream

the sausalito dream

crafted from an old train car

crafted from an old train car (train-car-house-boat!)

3 story sausalito houseboat

3 story sausalito houseboat (this one's a monster!)

modern floating home

modern floating home

4 Comments to “floating on a houseboat dream”

  1. those are amazing. the conductor of my choir when i was in high school had a sausalito house boat but it definitely did NOT look like any of those.

  2. that ferry houseboat is A.MAZ.ING. i used to drive by the houseboats in sausalito a few years ago with envy too…we must’ve been living in SF at the same time!

  3. I always thought I would like to live in a houseboat when I lived there because it would be better to be on water than shaky ground when there is an earthquake right?

  4. Thank you for this blog, keep up the informative posting. I will be sure to reference it when needed throughout our website once we add our resources section. Keep up the great blogging and thanks again.

Leave a Reply

